Tags

The Louvre was the actual palace of the royal family until Louis XIV moved the court to Versailles. Then the Louvre became a place to store the royal collections.

The once controversial glass pyramid designed by architect I.M. Pei was beautiful. This is a picture of part of it. The glass pyramid was designed to become the modern day entrance to the Louvre, as over 8,000,000 people visit the Louvre each year.

I was astonished at the beautiful pieces of art and at the unbelievable beauty of the Louvre itself.

 The Mona Lisa is the most famous piece of art in the world. The Mona Lisa was painted by Leonardo da Vinci about 1503. The Mona Lisa was painted in Florence, Italy. Since I have just been to Florence where I saw The Adoration of the Maji that da Vinci painted and several other beautiful and magnificent things that he painted I am feeling rather smug and knowledgable. The Mona Lisa is protected by a glass covering and a vault that she slides down into when not on display. The Mona Lisa is 21inches by 30 inches.

The Mona Lisa is said to be the “best known, most visited, the most written about, the most sung about, and the most parodied (most made fun of) work of art in the world.” After what I have seen of other works of art by da Vinvi I must say I really don’t understand why this particular piece is found to be so mysterious and intriguing. I was somewhat stunned as we climbed the stairs on the way to see Mona Lisa to be standing in front of the Winged Victory of Samotrace. Then I remembered where I was. I think this was the greatest moment of my trip.

The Winged Victory is thought to have been created in 190, remember that would be the second century. Even though no longer complete, in no way did this diminish her beauty.

The Venus de Milo was discovered on the island of Melos in Greece in 1820. She was thought to be sculpted between 130 and 100 BC, that would make her the oldest piece of art we have seen. The Venus is made of two blocks of marble that were sculpted and then fitted together. I found that interesting when I remembered Michaelagelo’s David was sculpted from one huge 18,000 pound piece of marble. Venus is 6′ 8″ tall and remember David is 17′ tall.

We stopped to look out the window of the Louvre at another wing of the beautiful building. The Louvre is HUGE!

